During the dye-sublimation printing process, a digital printer prints a mirror image on special transfer paper using sublimation ink. Under consistent pressure (45 sec) and at a consistent temperature (210 ° C), this transfer paper is inserted into the thermo transfer printing press together with the fabric to be printed on. 

Through the heat and the pressure of the press, the sublimation ink transitions into its gaseous state and sublimates into the polyester. Through this process the dyes are directly diffused into the polyester fabric. No imprint can be felt, since the dyes are directly in the fabric. 

By sublimating the ink with the polyester fabric, the fabric becomes extremely wash-resistant. The colors can even withstand the boiling of the fabric in the washing machine (boiling can lead to a slight fading of colors).

Since the chemical reaction only occurs when sublimating polyester fabrics, this printing technique can only be performed using polyester fabrics or blended fabric materials (at least 35% polyester).

Beim Sublimationsdruck wird mit einem Digitaldrucker, unter Verwendung von Sublimationstinte, ein Übertragungspapier spiegelverkehrt bedruckt. Unter konstantem Druck (45 sec)  und konstanter Temperatur (210° C) wird dieses Übertragungspapier zusammen mit dem zu bedruckendem Stoffzuschnitt in eine Thermotransferpresse gelegt.

Durch die Hitze und den Druck in der Presse geht die Sublimationstinte in einen gasförmigen Zustand über und sublimiert mit dem Polyester. Die Farben fliessen dabei direkt in den Polyesterstoff. Der Stoff bleibt weich und atmungsaktiv, man spürt keinen Aufdruck. 

Durch die Sublimation der Tinte mit dem Polyesterstoff ist dieser Stoff extrem waschbeständig. Die Farben überstehen sogar das Auskochen des Stoffes in der Waschmaschine (durch das Auskochen, kann es zu einem leichten Verbleichen der Farben kommen).

Da die chemische Reaktion der Sublimation nur bei Polyesterstoffen eintritt, kann man diese Drucktechnik nur auf Polyesterstoffen oder Mischgewebestoffen mit mind. 35% Polyester durchführen.